Author Topic: 0 PrimesPerSec  (Read 5455 times)

Offline flippyfeet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
0 PrimesPerSec
« on: July 10, 2013, 02:59:28 am »
I need a little help with mining PrimeCoin.  I am not getting any PrimesPerSec, but no errors.  Can anybody help me here?

Offline craslovell

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Hashing away, the moments that make up a dull day
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2013, 03:21:50 am »
Which CPU are you mining with?

Also, how many cores does it have?
PPC: PQKv5dNz9kgWpTSQDwbT3GGnqUghzhZ1mL
XPM: AYLXzB77w48bitdpBdoCjuCGEBzfoMnfnQ
Join the party: www.ppcoin.d7.lt

Offline MUTO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: +8/-1
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2013, 07:33:14 am »
Is your blockchain fully updated?
PPC PMUevEd9XSFQsJbyLEHhHy5xFQxY4YS9Zv
XPM ARShge2XQiHpUQ5q4jk75q38ddF3msr6rP

Offline flippyfeet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2013, 09:14:11 am »
Oops.  MUTO you're right.  Facepalm.

Offline craslovell

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Hashing away, the moments that make up a dull day
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2013, 03:55:53 am »
Oops.  MUTO you're right.  Facepalm.

So I'm guessing you are happily mining away now?  :D
PPC: PQKv5dNz9kgWpTSQDwbT3GGnqUghzhZ1mL
XPM: AYLXzB77w48bitdpBdoCjuCGEBzfoMnfnQ
Join the party: www.ppcoin.d7.lt

Offline ericwt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Hello I'm new here
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2013, 08:26:59 pm »
One core. CPU 1.6 GHz Intel. Not much I know.

{
"blocks" : 49199,
"currentblocksize" : 0,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : false,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 0,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

Any ideas? The wallet is up to date. How do I tell if  blockchain fully updated?

Should I try a desktop? With a more current CPU?

Offline craslovell

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Hashing away, the moments that make up a dull day
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2013, 10:27:31 pm »
One core. CPU 1.6 GHz Intel. Not much I know.

{
"blocks" : 49199,
"currentblocksize" : 0,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : false,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 0,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

Any ideas? The wallet is up to date. How do I tell if  blockchain fully updated?

Should I try a desktop? With a more current CPU?

It would be beneficial to use a computer with a more powerful cpu.  It does take several minutes for a primespersec to show.

Do you have connections to the network in the wallet? When you originally launched the wallet, you should have seen the blockchain being downloaded as it synchronizes with the network.  If you are connected to a few peers and dont see the chain being downloaded on your wallet overview page then you are probably ok.

Judging from the block number in your post you are fine and your wallet is synchronized.
PPC: PQKv5dNz9kgWpTSQDwbT3GGnqUghzhZ1mL
XPM: AYLXzB77w48bitdpBdoCjuCGEBzfoMnfnQ
Join the party: www.ppcoin.d7.lt

Offline ericwt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Hello I'm new here
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #7 on: July 15, 2013, 10:36:43 pm »
Thank you craslovell,

Yes the wallet is connected to the internet.

I wanted to try this on an old computer.

Now I have got to load the Primecoin client on six computers

I really appreciate the input. :)

Offline craslovell

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Hashing away, the moments that make up a dull day
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2013, 03:53:18 am »
No problem at all, did it turn out well on your other computers?
PPC: PQKv5dNz9kgWpTSQDwbT3GGnqUghzhZ1mL
XPM: AYLXzB77w48bitdpBdoCjuCGEBzfoMnfnQ
Join the party: www.ppcoin.d7.lt

Offline ericwt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Hello I'm new here
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2013, 04:18:37 am »
Will let you know tomorrow.

Cryptocurrency mining is a hobby and a fascination for me.

Business and money come first though. ;D

Offline craslovell

  • Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Hashing away, the moments that make up a dull day
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2013, 04:44:36 am »
Will let you know tomorrow.

Cryptocurrency mining is a hobby and a fascination for me.

Business and money come first though. ;D

Understandable. If you need more help let me know.

Not many better hobbies you could have  :)
PPC: PQKv5dNz9kgWpTSQDwbT3GGnqUghzhZ1mL
XPM: AYLXzB77w48bitdpBdoCjuCGEBzfoMnfnQ
Join the party: www.ppcoin.d7.lt

Offline ericwt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Hello I'm new here
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2013, 07:24:00 am »
Oh this is much better.

I just started the desktop. It is getting between 40-60 PrimesPerSec.

My 0 PrimesPerSec was due to a slow notebook and nothing else. Unless I screwed something else up.

Offline ericwt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Hello I'm new here
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2013, 07:34:17 am »
Wait a sec!

Now this little notebook is going.



{
"blocks" : 51581,
"currentblocksize" : 1000,
"currentblocktx" : 0,
"errors" : "",
"generate" : true,
"genproclimit" : -1,
"primespersec" : 60,
"pooledtx" : 0,
"testnet" : false
}

Problem solved.
 ;D

Life is good.

Offline MUTO

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: +8/-1
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #13 on: July 16, 2013, 07:40:40 am »
Primespersec value is only update about once per minute (correct me if I´m wrong with one minute). Therefore primespersec is at 0 for one Minute after starting the Client.
PPC PMUevEd9XSFQsJbyLEHhHy5xFQxY4YS9Zv
XPM ARShge2XQiHpUQ5q4jk75q38ddF3msr6rP

Offline ericwt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • Hello I'm new here
  • Referrals: 0
    • View Profile
Re: 0 PrimesPerSec
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2013, 07:56:55 am »
I think I see what my problem was. I could be wrong also.

When I fist keyed in "setgeneratetrue-1" I think I added a space between the "-" and the "1".

When I keyed it in without spaces it started to work.

I am no tech but that is my story and I believe it. 8)

 
Share this topic...
In a forum
(BBCode)
In a site/blog
(HTML)


Peercoin.net Official Peercoin Website